top of page

Coming Out!

Updated: Dec 31, 2018

Dear Friends,


I am agenderflux. I know that word probably makes no sense to you but it's a word that describes how I experience gender best. Agenderflux is agender and genderflux fused together. Agender is lack of gender and genderflux is the fluctuations of gender, so therefore agenderflux is the fluctuations of femininity to neutrality to masculinity.


Basically I have no gender. I do experience waves of masculinity without ever feeling that I am a man and waves of femininity without ever feeling like a woman.


My pronouns are they/them/theirs and my name is Sapphyre or Saph for short. I am transgender. I am non binary. I am agenderflux.



I present more feminine because it's not safe for me to come out to the people around me. My ideal gender expression would be androgynous to masculine, but for now I'll wear pink.


I knew I was trans non binary about 3 years ago and toyed with different labels and pronouns. Up until learning what non binary meant I didn't have much dysphoria but once I figured out who I am I felt euphoria especially with my pronouns and my name. I went through a lot of names.


You may be wondering why I refer to myself as trans. Well because I am trans! Anyone who isn't the gender they were assigned with at birth is trans. Trans people aren't just binary. We are non binary and genderqueer as well.


I am happy with who I am even though I know there are tons of people out there who will bully me, invalidate me, and maybe even want to hurt me. It's definitely more difficult being black and trans but I think that just makes me one strong motherfucker!


 

Heres a list of words I DO NOT like being referred to as:

- Sis

- Girl

- Sweetie

- Miss

- Ma'am

- Ms.

- Mama

- Woman

- Lady

- Man

- Sir

- Pretty

- Beautiful

Heres an ALTERNATIVE list to use:

- Miss, Ms., Ma'am, Sir--> Mx.

- Pretty, beautiful--> Stunning, handsome, lovely

- Sis, girl--> my name

- Sweetie--> Hun, love

- Woman, lady, man--> person

- Mama--> Zaza, Baba


0 comments
bottom of page